The ACKMA Journal

Official Publication of the Australasian Cave and Karst Management Association Incorporated.

Published quarterly in March, June, September and December.

The opinions expressed in the ACKMA Journal are those of the individual authors and not necessarily those of ACKMA Inc or its officers.

EDITOR: Christian Bom

Photos taken by the authors or editor unless otherwise acknowledged.

ACKMA Inc is cross-affiliated or otherwise associated with:

Australian Speleological Federation, New Zealand Speleological Society, Australasian Bat Society, The WCPA Working Group on Cave and Karst Protection, Guiding Organisations Australia, Bat Conservation International, American Cave Conservation Association, International Show Caves Association, Cave Diving Association of Australia, The Malaysian Karst Society, The Jenolan Caves Historical & Preservation Society and the USA National Speleological Society Cave Conservation and Management Section, Savannah Guides Ltd.

LIFE MEMBERS of ACKMA Inc

Steve Bourne *, John Brush *, Michael Chalker *, Peter Chandler *, Brian Clark *, Alan Costigan ^{d*}, Grant Gartrell *, Elery Hamilton-Smith ^{d*}, Kent Henderson *, Ernst Holland ^{d*}, Greg Martin *, Tim Moore *, Chester Shaw ^{d*}, Roy Skinner ^{d*}, Dave Smith *, Andy Spate *, Clyde Stiff ^{d*}, Dianne Vavryn *, Rauleigh Webb *, Kevan Wilde *, David Williams *.

(^d Deceased, * previously elected as Fellows)

FELLOWS of ACKMA Inc

John Ash, Peter Bell, John Brush, Dale Calnin, Deborah Carden, Arthur Clarke, Ian Houshold, Julia James, Neil Kell, Kevin Kiernan, Lana Little, Robyn McBeath, Cathie Plowman, Dennis Rebbechi, Barry Richard, Tim Moore, John Watson, Nicholas White, Anne Wood, David Gillieson, Andy Baker.

ACKMA PRESIDENTS

Ernst Holland 1987-91, Andy Spate 1991-95, Michael Chalker 1995-97, Greg Martin 1997-99, Brian Clark 1999-2001, Peter Dimond 2001-02, Peter Chandler 2002 -03, Robyn McBeath 2003-05, Steve Bourne 2005-11, Peter Chandler 2011-13, Dan Cove 2013-16, Dale Calnin 2016-2018, Andy Spate 2018-2020, Ian Eddison 2020-

FRONT COVER and BACK COVER

Chillagoe Caves, North Queensland.

ACKMA Inc OFFICE BEARERS 2020-2021

President Ian Eddison Email: president@ackma.org

New Zealand Vice President Neil Collinson Email: nz.vice.president@ackma.org

Australian Vice President Scott Melton Email: aus.vice.president@ackma.org

Executive Officer Cathie Plowman Email: executive.officer@ackma.org

Treasurer Dave Gillieson Email: treasurer@ackma.org

Publications Officer Christian Bom Email: ackma.editor@gmail.com

Committee Member Mark Delane Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member Liz Reed Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member Teagan Symonds Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member (Co-opted) Shannon Corkhill Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member (Co-opted) Regina Roach Email: committee@ackma.org

Webmaster Rauleigh Webb Email: webmaster@ackma.org

International Affairs Officer Andy Spate Email: international.affairs@ackma.org

Secretary Steve Bourne Email: public.officer@ackma.org

IN THIS ISSUE

Editorial Page 3
President's reportPage 4
Australian Cave Animal of the Year Page 5
Savannah Guides Field School Page 8
Impacts of Fire & Storms - Yarrangobilly Page 10
Natural values assesment & environmental monitoring of Naracoorte Caves Page 14
An entry into the Creative Arts Category of the IYCK CompetitionPage 15
Kosciuszko National Park Wild Horse Heritage Management Plan Page 16
ANDYSEZ 62 Page 19
Winner of the Photography Category of the IYCK CompetitionPage 22
Capricorn Caves - Art Retreat Page 21
Winning entry of the Creative Arts Category of the IYCK CompetitionPage 22