The ACKMA Journal

Official Publication of the Australasian Cave and Karst Management Association Incorporated.

Published quarterly in March, June, September and December.

The opinions expressed in the ACKMA Journal are those of the individual authors and not necessarily those of ACKMA Inc or its officers.

EDITOR: Tim Moore

SUB EDITORS: Tony Culberg, Andy Spate

Photos taken by the authors or editor unless otherwise acknowledged.

ACKMA Inc is cross-affiliated or otherwise associated

Australian Speleological Federation, New Zealand Speleological Society, Australasian Bat Society, The WCPA Working Group on Cave and Karst Protection, Guiding Organisations Australia, Bat Conservation International, American Cave Conservation Association, International Show Caves Association, Cave Diving Association of Australia, The Malaysian Karst Society, The Jenolan Caves Historical & Preservation Society and the USA National Speleological Society Cave Conservation and Management Section

LIFE MEMBERS of ACKMA Inc

Steve Bourne*, Michael Chalker*, Peter Chandler*, Brian Clark*, Grant Gartrell*, Kent Henderson*, Ernst Holland*, Greg Martin*, Dave Smith*, Andy Spate*, Dianne Vavryn*, Rauleigh Webb*, Kevan Wilde*, David Williams*

(*previously elected as Fellows)

FELLOWS of ACKMA Inc

John Ash, Peter Bell, John Brush, Dale Calnin, Deborah Carden, Arthur Clarke, Ken Grimes, Ian Houshold, Julia James, Neil Kell, Kevin Kiernan, Lana Little, Robyn McBeath, Cathie Plowman, Dennis Rebbechi, Barry Richard, Tim Moore, John Watson, Nicholas White, Anne booW

ACKMA PRESIDENTS

Ernst Holland 1987-91, Andy Spate 1991-95, Michael Chalker 1995-97, Greg Martin 1997-99, Brian Clark 1999-2001, Peter Dimond 2001-02, Peter Chandler 2002 -03, Robyn McBeath 2003-05, Steve Bourne 2005-11, Peter Chandler 2011-13, Dan Cove 2013-16, Dale Calnin 2016-2018, Andy Spate 2018-2020, Ian Eddison 2020-

FRONT COVER: Postcard of Caves House and the Jenolan Valley from the late 19th or early 20th Century — supplied by Ian Eddison

ACKMA Inc OFFICE BEARERS 2020-2021

President

Ian Eddison Email: president@ackma.org

New Zealand Vice President

Peter Chandler Email: nz.vice.president@ackma.org

Australian Vice President

Scott Melton Email: aus.vice.president@ackma.org

Executive Officer

Kent Henderson Email: executive.officer@ackma.org

Treasurer

Dave Gillieson Email: treasurer@ackma.org

Publications Officer

Tim Moore Email: publications@ackma.org

Committee Member

Mark Delane Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member

Cathie Plowman Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member

Jordan Wheeler

Email: membership.officer@ackma.org

Committee Member (Co-opted)

Jodie Strickland Email: committee@ackma.org

Committee Member (Co-opted)

Regina Roach Email: committee@ackma.org

Webmaster

Rauleigh Webb Email: webmaster@ackma.org

International Affairs Officer

Andy Spate Email: international.affairs@ackma.org

Secretary

Steve Bourne Email: public.officer@ackma.org

IN THIS ISSUE

Editorial
President's report
ACKMA Cave Climate Project - An Update Page 5
The Ann Augusteyn Award Page 10
"Ode to the Covid Cave" Page 12
The Guides' School and 2021 AGM Page 13
"Around the show caves"
Margaret River Page 15
Wellington Caves Page 16
Manjanggul Lava tube photographs Page 17
Historic Gardens of Jenolan Caves Page 18
Meeting & Fire seminar dates reminder Back cover